India’s athletes have brought home 19 medals from Tokyo Summer Paralympics 2020

This year India has had an unbelievable and unprecedented success at Tokyo Summer Paralympics 2020, which took place from 24 August to 5 September 2021, having won 19 medals in total! Five of them are gold ones, eight silver, and six bronze medals. Counting the number of gold medals, India, therefore, is in 24th place among all the countries. If the total number of medals is taken into account, India is in 20th place.

The winning of gold and silver medals on the concluding day of the Paralympics became the cherry on top. The prominent athletes who achieved this at the Yoyogi National Stadium are Krishna Nagar and Suhas Lanilakere Yathiraj who competed in Men’s Singles in Badminton. Krishna Nagar is a 22-year-old athlete from Jaipur who brought the second Badminton gold to India, having beaten Hong Kong China’s Chu Man Kai 21-17, 16-21, 21-17. Suhas Yathiraj, who is the Noida district magistrate as well, scripted the history, having become the first Indian civil services worker to participate and to win a medal in Paralympics.

The day when Krishna Nagar and Suhas Lanilakere Yathiraj became champions was also Teacher’s Day in India. Krishna Nagar told it was the happiest day in his life, as he won a gold medal for his coach Gaurav Khanna on a Teacher’s Day. He couldn’t describe his feelings when the national anthem was heard and the flag was raised during the awards ceremony. The athlete dedicated his medal to those who fight coronavirus. He appreciates the constant and tireless work of medical workers and volunteers during the pandemic.

Among the medal winners, there are multiple champions ‒ shooters Avani Lakhera (gold and bronze) and Singhraj Adhana (silver and bronze). Avani Lakhera has become the first Indian winner in Shooting in the Paralympics. She is as well the first Indian woman having won gold and become a multi-winner in the Paralympics. Singhraj Adhana has won his silver medal in the Mixed 50m pistol SH1 category and Bronze in Men's 10m air rifle SH1 category.

First India’s Paralympic medal in Table Tennis has been taken by Bhavana Patel. First India’s medal in Archery at the Paralympics has been won by Harvinder Singh, who took bronze in Men’s Recurve Individual.

This season the biggest number of sportsmen from India have competed in Tokyo Paralympics – 54 athletes, who tested their capacities in nine various sporting categories.

1968 Summer Paralympics were the first Games where India took place but started its constant participation in 1984. In all the preceding years the overall number of gained medals was twelve – four gold ones, four silver, and four bronze medals. Compare this number with the result of nineteen (!) medals n only ONE season!

Indian gold medal winners:

- Avani Lekhara, Shooting, R2 women’s 10m, AR Standing SH1;

- Sumit Until, Javelin Throw, Men’s F64;

- Manish Narwal, Shooting, P4 Mixed 50m, Pistol SH1;

- Pramod Bhagat, Badminton, Men’s singles SL3;

- Krishna Nagar, Badminton, Men’s singles, SH6.

Indian silver medal winners:

- Bhavnaben Patel, Table Tennis, Women’s Class 4;

- Nishad Kumar, High Jump, Men’s T47;

- Yogesh Kathuniya, Discus Throw, Men’s F56;

- Devendra Jhajharia, Javelin Throw, Men’s F46;

- Mariyappan Thangavelu, High Jump, Men’s T42;

- Singhraj Adhana, Shooting, P4 Mixed 50m, Pistol SH1;

- Praveen Kumar, High Jump, Men’s T64;

- Suhas Yathiraj, Badminton, Men’s singles, SL4.

Indian bronze medal winners:

- Sundar Singh Gurjar, Javelin Throw, Men’s F46;

- Singhraj Adhana, Shooting, P1 Men’s 10m AP;

- Sharad Kumar, High Jump, Men’s T42;

- Avani Lekhara, Shooting, Women’s 50m, Rifle 3P SH1;

- Harvinder Singh, Archery, Men’s Individual Recurve;

- Manoj Sarkar, Badminton, Men’s singles, SL3.